Posted in nature

Birdwatching and Blooming Flowers

The annual Big Garden Birdwatch returned last weekend. As usual I took part on a Sunday morning. As with the previous year, there were lots of birds to see in my little patch, namely;

– 2 Blackbirds (Turdus merula)
– 3 Magpies (Pica pica)
– 7 Starlings (Sturnus vulgaris)
– 1 Robin (Erithacus rubecula)
– 1 Dunnock (Prunella modularis)
– 5 Blue Tits (Cyanistes caeruleus)
– 2 Great Tits (Parus major)
– 2 Wood Pigeons (Columba palumbus)
– 1 Carrion Crow (Corvus corone)
– 1 Ring necked parakeet (Psittacula krameri) and
– 3 Common Gulls (Larus canus)

There were a few changes to my 2019 list, the Dunnock, Ring necked parakeet and Common gulls were not visible during surveys before. Although I have noticed these birds in the area many times.

I enjoy purposely sitting for an hour on a Sunday morning observing birds, especially at this time of year. It is a lovely reminder that if you atune yourself to nature you will notice it even in the depths of winter.

One bird I have been hoping to see all winter were Redwings (Turdus iliacus). In previous years there have always been a few visitors to the Rowan (Sorbus) tree. However the berries were quickly eaten this Winter, which may explain why I haven’t seen any. Although perhaps they arrived when I wasn’t around to see them.

It was fantastic to witness more flowers popping up last week too, they were;

– Crocus vernus

-Anemone blanda

-Iris reticulata

– and Primroses (Primula vulgaris)

Spring really does feel as though it is around the corner now we have entered February.