Posted in nature

A Rare Sighting of Hares

While I mostly witness nature in amphibian, insect or plant form, just occasionally I get to see mammals too.

Last week I briefly observed two adult Hares (Lepus europaeus) as I traveled from a job; a garden at a house surrounded by farmland.

They were out in an open field some distance away from the driveway, yet close enough to be able to appreciate their size as well as distinguish the black tips on their long ears along with their distinctive hind legs.

As Hares are usually seen alone, I’m guessing these two were a pair. Perhaps aware of the movement of the electric vehicle, one suddenly crouched down as the other sat bolt upright alongside it. It was lovely to witness these two together in this way. Previously, I’ve only ever seen one Hare far in the distance running across an open field, presumably after being disturbed.

Hares are the UK’s fastest mammal, when disturbed they have a top speed of 45 mph and move in a zig zag formation.

While mostly solitary, these mammals occasionally live apart from one another in loosely connected groups. This explains why, in early spring, when two Hares are seen ‘boxing’ they’re not two males fighting for dominance but actually a female fighting off a male.

Their preferred habitat is a combination of farmland or undisturbed grassland surrounded by woods; enabling easy access to grass and crops for food while giving some protection.

Rather than burrows, Hares live in a form (an exposed depression on the ground). They remain close to their form during the daytime, becoming more active and feeding at night. The two I saw must have been in their form. I wonder if they had a litter? Hares can have three to four litters within a year (between March and July) giving birth to two- four leverets each time. Hares can live for up to four years.

There was one other prominent sighting from last week, that of a Angle shades Moth (Phlogophora meticulosa). I noticed it on Thursday, resting on the milk bottle carrier as I collected my milk delivery.

This is the moths I see more than any other, perhaps because I am surrounded by the perfect habitat for them; a mixture of gardens, parks, woodland and hedgerows containing an abundant food source for their caterpillars. Angle shades caterpillars will feed upon Common Nettle (Urtica dioica), Red Valerian (Centranthus ruber), Broad-leaved Dock (Rumex obtusifolius), Bramble (Rubus fruiticosus) and Hazel (Corylus avellana).
As this is a night flying moth, I carefully transferred it to the nearby wall where it could gain shelter from the daylight.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.