Posted in nature

“It’s a Bird!” “It’s a Plane!” “It’s a Superperb Moth!”

Last week I began hearing the male Tawny owls (Strix aluco) territorial call as I fell asleep and again when I awoke. Usually this starts from late autumn and continues throughout winter (see BTO). Whatever the reason for him asserting his territory early, it was lovely to hear that sound return from last winter. Yet this wasn’t the only spectacle I noticed last week.

Last Wednesday, as I cut back spent Lavender, I became aware of something flying past me. I continued to watch until the insect stopped to gain nectar from some Red Valerian (Centranthus ruber); It was a Humming-bird Hawk-moth (Macroglossum stellatarum). As this was my first sighting of this superb moth, I found it impossible to maintain my composure as I hurriedly fumbled for my phone. Unfortunately it was too quick for me to photograph as it flitted between flowers, not resting as it fed. It did return momentarily but I was still unable to gain photographic evidence before it flew away once again. A visual guide can be seen on the Butterfly Conservation website. For further information on Red Valerian see the RHS website.

Apparently it is possible to hear it buzz as it flies, due to the quick movement of it’s wings; sadly all I could hear were builders working nearby.

Occasionally this daytime flying moth can be observed at other times of the year but traditionally it is seen between June and September. It usually migrates to the UK from the continent but in milder winters can overwinter in this country; in sheltered areas such as crevices, holes within trees and outbuildings.

It obtains nectar from a variety of plants in gardens, woodland edges as well as heathland on very warm sunny days. Along with the Red Valerian I noticed this one visit these moths can be seen amongst Honeysuckle (Lonicera), Jasmine (Jasminum), Buddleja, lilac (Syringa), Escallonia, Petunia and Phlox. While the caterpillars only feed on Wild Madder (Rubia peregrina) and Red Valerian along with Lady’s (Galium verum) and Hedge Bedstraw (Galium album).

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.